Hotel Derby Eiffel is located close to the headquarters of UNESCO, a specialized agency of the United Nations and major player in the maintenance of peace among nations through educational collaborations, cultural or scientific. UNESCO has 195 Member States and eight associate members.
It is now linked to more than 300 non-governmental organizations (NGOs), some of which have their offices from within its headquarters.
The action of UNESCO focuses through seven themes.
- Education accessible to all
- Freedom of expression
- The living together
- The development of knowledge
- The protection of the planet and its oceans
- Heritage protection
- Science at the service of the future
Initially housed in the former Majestic Hotel in the 16th arrondissement, between 1946 and 1958, the current permanant seat of the Institution was opened November 3, 1958, it consists of three buildings located on over 3 acres.
Construction plans of the buildings were made by a trio of architects. Zehrfuss Bernard (France) Pier Luigi Nervi (Italy) and Marcel Breuer (USA)
The project was then validated by an international committee composed of five members: Le Corbusier (France), Walter Gropius (USA), Sven Markelius (Sweden), Ernesto Nathan Rogers (Italy), and Lucio Costa (Brazil)
The Finnish architect Eero Saarinen
also brought its collaboration in the project. The main building, which is installed in the secretariat, is characterized by its structure based on 72 stilts and its unique three-pointed star shape. It stands on seven floors.
The other two buildings, "Cube" and "Accordion" is not really aesthetic maintains links with the main building. They contain offices for the origin Permanent Delegations or Non Governmental Organizations and conference rooms, the Great Hall of General Conference.
Following the development of UNESCO, two underground floors of offices were created in 1965
The head of UNESCO is also a center of culture that can be visited for free as part of some national days (Night of Museums, Heritage Days ...).
Indeed approximately 700 works are kept on the site. Among these works of Alexander Calder, Joan Miró, Giacometti and Picasso.
UNESCO, which is regularly the acquisition of works of art, sometimes receives donations from some states. Ireland has offered this great international institution Erro a mural depicting the history of Thor and Tunisia remarkable Roman mosaic dating from the late second century. The works are developed and integrated into the site so that all staff and external visitors can enjoy at any time.